‘Minds Collide’ Debuts in the iTunes Top 20!

Blog, News

‘Minds Collide’ the new album from Matt Keil was released today and what a phenomenal success it’s been so far today! The album landed in the iTunes UK Classical music top 20, outselling other classical artists such as Ludovico Einaudi and Katherine Jenkins that day. The tremendous success of the album is down to you, the fans, who have supported Matt so much and helped make this all possible.

Thank you so much!

Minds Collide in iTunes

‘Minds Collide’ The New Album Out June 17th!

Blog, News

On June 17th, ‘Minds Collide’ the new album will be released on CD, digital download and streaming services. The album features 12 brand new tracks written for piano including the upcoming singles ‘Rise’, ‘Tectonic Rainbows’ and ‘Curiosity’. The album follows the 2011 release ‘Regression Play’ and marks a clear evolution in style and technicality, whilst maintaining the emotional substance that seems to prove very popular.

Work on the album started last September and was only completed two weeks ago. Three singles will be released before the album’s release date, one of which will be given away for free!

The amazing new artwork was created by artist Sophie Herrick who for many weeks was the only person who knew what the album was called. In a strange way, the artwork has made the album sound better. When I saw it for the first time, I was determined more-so, to make the album the best it could be. I revisited a couple of tracks and ended up writing string parts for them which is something I hadn’t done on the previous album.

If you liked tracks like ‘Skating in Circles’ and ‘Like Nothing Else’ from the previous album, then you’ll love this one.

‘Minds Collide’ the new album from Matt Keil will be available on June 17th from iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Deezer, Google Play and BlackBerry World.  


Minds Collide

Minds Collide Tracklisting:

  1. Minds Collide [1:20]
  2. A Curious Case of Cataclysm [2:49]
  3. Tectonic Rainbows [5:31]
  4. Eyes to the Sea [11:13]
  5. Escape the Sinking Ship [4:08]
  6. Draconian Nights [3:45]
  7. Embrace the Never [3:21]
  8. Hope You Fall [5:46]
  9. Reconnect [2:47]
  10. A-A-A-E-E-I-I [2:47]
  11. Curiosity [5:52]
  12. Rise [6:31]

Sophie Herrick Commissioned for New Album Artwork!

Blog, News

The release of the as-yet unnamed new album is only a few months away and as we get closer to the release date, more information will come to light about it.

Insanely talented artist Sophie Herrick will be providing the artwork for the new album. The theme is being kept a secret for now – in fact Sophie is the only person who knows the album title apart from me!

A full announcement about the album title, track listing and release date will be made next month.

Album Recording Update

Blog, News

The last time I released any new music was in September 2011. It’s been ages and my piano playing was largely neglected due various commitments and general apathy. My messy split from a band I was in turned out to be a blessing in disguise as I found my hunger for writing for piano once again.

When I recorded my first album ‘Regression Play’, they were largely compositions written between 2004 and 2010. Sitting at a piano in September 2012 it dawned on me that it’s been 2 years since I’ve written anything for piano and I had no idea how it was going to turn out. I’ve never written music ‘about’ anything. If it sounded good, I’d record it and give is a random title. This time around, it’s a bit different.